The 2024 Gala Art Auction Exhibition is open. Come by to check out the works and bid on your favorite pieces.

Utah Division of Arts & Museums Statewide Annual UT ’23 Mixed Media & Works On Paper

Jun 23, 2023 – Sep 16, 2023

Visual arts competitions and exhibitions have been a project of the Utah Division of Arts & Museums (UA&M) since 1899. The Statewide Annual Exhibition (SWA) is an annual juried exhibition presenting a survey of current, outstanding visual art by Utah-based artists through three rotating themes: Painting, Sculpture & Installation, Mixed Media & Works on Paper, and Craft, Photography, Video & Digital.

Utah is multi-dimensional and the art made here illuminates this through a spectrum of personal expression, ideas, curiosities, world views, stories, and passions all brought to life through the skill, wit, craft, and intelligence of Utah artists – new, generational, and Indigenous. Through this longstanding program, we collectively survey the contemporary art of our communities–art reflecting that which is most important to the artists–and in turn bringing us pause to consider nuanced narrative and universal experience, appreciate the depths of human capabilities and creativity, and expand our understanding of the place we live and people that call it home.

This year’s SWA is composed of 28 artworks by 24 artists following the theme of mixed media or works on paper. Examples of ‘works on paper’ include artist books, drawings, screenprints, and collages, and ‘mixed media’ are represented by works that incorporate combinations of materials, found objects, embroidery, audio, and lights, among other media. We encourage all artists working within Utah and making artwork on paper or with mixed media to apply. The SWA is a meaningful opportunity for artists to be part of a survey of the state of contemporary art-making across Utah and engage new audiences through the process.

We are honored to have Julio César Morales (AZ) and Pat Hickman (NY) as this year’s jurors. They have brought a vast array of knowledge to the selection process regarding material use, concept, craft, experimentation, and the art world at large.

Exhibiting Artists

Valerie Atkisson De Moura; Brandi Chase; Rocio Cisneros-Vasquez; Jared Clark; Jamie Clyde; Pat Debenham; Stefanie Dykes; P Kent Fairbanks; Jim Frazer; Alexandra Giannell; Sue Hansen; Cecilia Izarraraz; Lenka Konopasek; Frank McEntire; Alison Neville;  Curtis Olson; Rebecca Pletsch; James Rees; Jean Richardson; Evelyn Roundy; Josh Storer; Josh Tavoian; Marcus Vincent; Tamia Wardle

Award recipients will be revealed at the Artist Reception on July 28th. These include Best in Show ($1,000), Jurors’ Awards ($600), Honorable Mentions ($200), and a People’s Choice Award ($200).

↗ Place your vote for the People’s Choice Award!

Supported by ZAP and the National Endowment for the Arts